Board and Staff

The volunteer board of directors of The Scholarship Foundation of St. Louis sets organizational policy and priorities, secures adequate resources to support the Foundation’s programs, and provides fiduciary oversight for the nonprofit organization.

The Board includes men and women from education, finance, business, public service, communications, public health, law, medicine, and many other facets of community life.

The staff of the Foundation, led by the executive director, are professionals with a wealth of education, training, and experience in nonprofit management.


Leadership Team

Faith Sandler
Executive Director

Karina Arango
Director of Advocacy

Robert Foley
Director of Information Technology

Tameka Herrion
Senior Director of Programs

Catherine Hill
Director of Finance & Controller

Ravi Rao
Director of Development


Teresa Stock Steinkamp
Director of Advising

Dominesha Newton
Senior Student Advisor

Grace Carlson
Student Advisor

Ricky Hughes
Student Advisor

Kimberly Howse

Laura Keeton
Data Support Specialist

Cortasha Thomas
Program Coordinator

Jamie Wilger
Development Coordinator

Thurman Young
Awards Manager




Lauren Nash Ming, President
Karen O. Drake, Vice-President
Debra B. Kennard, Vice-President
Heidi Veron, Vice-President

Jill Nowak, Treasurer
Robert Schmalz, Secretary
Clayton M. Evans, Member-At-Large


Gerald Axelbaum
Azmy Azmy
Jacqueline Meaders Booth
James E. Crowe, III
Matt Dace
Bill Eastman
Joan Esserman
Jennifer A. Haynes
Janet Hendrickson
Muhammad Q. Islam

April Mickens Jolly
Laura Kipnis
Joan Magruder
David A. Meyer
Lainie Neiman
Susan Plassmeyer
Dana L. Romeis
Tom Ruwitch
Lauren J. Sagel
Beth-Anne Yakubu

Honorary Life Directors

Buron Buffkin
Betsy Douglass
Joyce Follman
Linda Goldstein
Joel Iskiwitch
Nancy Kalishman

Lynne Kipnis
Donna Moog
Julia Muller
Estie Pruett
Audrey Shanfeld
Barbara Touchette

Members of our board can access the Board Portal with a valid username and password at the following address: