The Scholarship Foundation Announces New Board Members and Officers for 2023-2024

Jess DewesCommunity, Leadership, News, Uncategorized

The Scholarship Foundation of St. Louis is pleased to announce and welcome new members and officers to the board of directors effective June 6, 2023. Joining the board are Cardelia Collier-Robinson, Jennifer Engeling, Jennie Jean-Jacques, Katherine Kruesser, and Jordan Watson. Below are brief biographies of The Scholarship Foundation’s new board members.

Cardelia Collier-Robinson is retired from her career as a Project Manager in Information Technology. She served as Assistant Pastor of Ecclesia of Christ Cosmopolitan Church for many years and remains on the board of directors. She also worked as the diversity coordinator in admissions at a local private high school. Cardelia received her bachelor’s from the University of Houston and her master’s in systems management from Capitol Technology University.

Jennifer Engeling is Principal for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion at Edward Jones. She accepted this role in the firm after having worked in data science and analytics for several years. She is responsible for DEI talent strategy for all 50,000 associates, which includes talent acquisition, retention, leadership development, performance, mobility, etc., with a specific focus on 1) increasing representation of diverse groups, and 2) equity in career experience, opportunity, and outcomes. Jen’s work provides her direct insight into cross-cultural community building, financial literacy education, and detailed development of measurement plans to ensure initiatives are driving desired outcomes. Jen’s prior positions include management analytics with Blackhawk Network and financial markets work with Thomson Reuters. Her bachelor’s and MA/MBA are from Washington University, with a period of fellowship and study in Europe as well. Jen lives in St. Albans.

Jennie Jean-Jacques is Senior Assistant Director of Undergraduate Admissions at Washington University. Prior to this post, Jennie held positions in admissions at Fontbonne University and King’s College, was in graduate support at De La Salle, and served as program director at Angel Baked Cookies. Jennie earned her BSBA in International Business from King’s College. Jennie lives in the Compton Heights neighborhood.

Katherine Kruesser, M.D. retired from her 40-plus year practice as a pediatrician in 2021. For much of her career, she saw patients at The Children’s Clinic and was an advocate for expanding services in mental health at Children’s Hospital. Katy tutored for years in St. Louis Public Schools, taught cooking classes through the Ubuntu program (aka Join Hands East St Louis), was a provider at Planned Parenthood of the St. Louis Region, and administered COVID vaccines through the St. Louis Department of Health. She graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in physical therapy and then went on to medical school at Indiana University.

Jordan Watson recently began a new position as Program Manager in Campus Recruiting and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion with ADM Company. She previously served in roles that connect college access and success with career and industry, with particular attention to institutional DEI programming. Jordan is also a licensed professional counselor in part-time practice. Her prior positions in the St. Louis region were with University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy, Incarnate Word Academy, Olin School of Business at Washington University, Saint Louis University, University of Missouri – St. Louis, and College Bound. Jordan completed her bachelor’s at Georgia State and her master’s in clinical mental health counseling at University of Missouri – St. Louis where she is currently pursuing her doctorate in educational leadership. Her dissertation focuses on increasing student-faculty engagement for racially minoritized freshmen. Jordan lives in O’Fallon, Missouri.

New board officers for 2023-2024 are Janet Hendrickson who will serve as Treasurer, Muhammad Islam who will serve as Vice-President of Advancement, and Jill Nowak who will serve as Member-at-Large. They join Lauren Nash Ming (President), Matt Dace (Vice-President of Program), Karen O. Drake (Vice-President of Advocacy), and Jacqueline Meaders Booth (Secretary).